|Tag Type||Current Price|
|Additional online fee||$2.00|
|Transfer Tag||$5.00||*Transfers can only be residents within the same County|
|Tag Type||Current Price|
|Extra Kennel Tags||$1.00|
|**||THE LAW SPECIFICALLY DOES NOT ALLOW FOR REFUNDS OF ANY TYPE OF TAGS PURCHASED. SO, IF AN OWNER PURCHASES A 3 YEAR OR PERMANENT TAG FOR A DOG, WE CANNOT REFUND THE FEES DUE TO A DOG’S DEATH.|
When should I license my dog?
The annual license renewal period is December 1 through January 31. If you have a new puppy, you must buy a license by the time he reaches three months old. If you have just moved into Clinton County or if you just acquired a new dog, you must purchase a license within 30 days.
Where do I purchase a dog license?
You can purchase a license by mail or in person at the County Auditor's office any time during the year. During renewal time, several convenient locations in Clinton County are established to issue dog licenses. Call the Auditor's Office to find out where dog licenses are sold at (937) 382 - 2250.
December 1, 2020 through January 31, 2021, Mr. Habermehl has also authorized the following local retailers to sell dog tags for an additional 75 cent fee:
Must my dog wear a tag?
YES. Ohio law requires it. The dog warden may impound dogs without tags.
Why do I need to license my dog?
First, Ohio law requires that you license your dog. Second, a license tag attached to your dog's collar proves ownership and is your pet's ticket home if he gets lost.
What if I forget to buy my dog's license during the renewal period of December 1 through January 31?
Ohio law requires a late fee ($14 in Clinton County, $70 for kennel tags). Simply pay the fee of $14 ($70 for kennel tags) for the current year's license. There are no provisions in the law to waive the fee.
Can I let my dog run loose if he is licensed?
NO! It is against the law. Ohio law specifies that all dogs must be confined to your property or under reasonable control - such as on a leash when being walked. It is not safe to let your dog roam the neighborhood.
What do I do if I find a lost dog?
If the dog is wearing a current Clinton County license tag, call the Clinton County Auditor's Office at (937) 382 - 2250 to find out the owner's name. If the dog is not wearing a current license tag, call the dog warden. The dog warden may be reached through the Sheriff's office at (937) 382 - 1611.
What if I move?
If you move within Clinton County, please call (937) 382 - 2250 with your new address and telephone number so we can keep the information up-to-date. If you move to another county, call that County's Auditor Office for licensing information.